So here are some drawings (click on them to zoom):

1. Lamp: who says that a lamp can’t be inspiring? This is the lamp I have on my desk, and I felt like drawing it for a long time. I guess I like its straigh lines.

lamp

2. Bike: I drew this one because I like the flowers (I think they’re the part of the drawing that looks best, although I was too lazy to shade them). The front wheel is not very convincing, though.

bike

3. If there’s a character well built in today’s popular literature, that is Lisbeth Salander, the only thing I would save out of Millennium trilogy. She’s so complex that the plot and the other characters lose  all interest in comparison.

Lisbeth Salander

Lisbeth Salander

4. What I liked about this one first was the hair. I also liked how the lighting draws the lines of the back of the woman, but I haven’t caught it well. Guess I have to practice more.

woman

5. This one is based on a Bansky’s graffiti:

banskybased

6. What caught my attention on this one was the perfect curve describing the woman’s forehead. Drawing the hand in that position was interesting, but although I’m satisfied with the result, I could have made it better.

tribal woman

On why I’ve decided to draw again:

“You are a bit talented for everything, but you don’t have talent for anything”. And this is a big problem, because as you’re moderately good for everything, you can’t never make up your mind about what you really want to do because a lifetime isn’t enough to do all the things you’re interested in. And there’re always tones of people that make it better than you. Sometimes I would change all my bit-talents for just one, but one I could develope completely. Anyway, during these Christmas days, I’ve entered a ‘holiday loop’:  I make up a lot of things to do in order to have my mind busy and don’t become nuts. Due to this, when my brain is about to collapse, I suffer a great headache and I start to consider wether I should stop in order to don’t become nuts. And then start again because I have to do something. That is why it’s a loop. So, there I was some nights ago, lying in my bed, at 3:30 AM with my eyes widely open and a frantic mental activity. And, thinking about the things I could do, I got to the conclussion I should draw something again.

Between the list of my former hobbies, which is very, very long, because I don’t have persistence and my motivation always flies away,  drawing has a honor place. It was my favorite way of expression during my childhood. Although I also tried to write, it wasn’t the same. It was something natural for me. I remembered I drew whatever caught my attention, stroke me, or found beautiful, apart from the things I imagined by myself. I have tones of folders full of drawings I made when I was a little girl. I didn’t know if I did it well, I didn’t care much about that back then. But at some point between 12 or 13 years old, I tried to take my hobby farther and create something with a deeper meaning, I wanted to express some complex ideas or feelings through drawings. And then was when I found myself incapable of transfer to the paper what was in my mind. The results were never as I wanted, and drawing became frustrating until the point I gave it up. Apart from that, art classes at school didn’t help me to reconcile with my long term hobby. More than that, they discouraged me. Then, as a result of some bad times I went through (let’s say I don’t always get along well with myself), I completely lost touch with that creative side of me for many years. Until now.

2 thoughts on “Sketchpad I

Leave a Reply

